GO TO XO

On the XO Laptop

A Green Box For Learning

leave a comment »

When I speak about the XO these days, and I do so often, I frequently begin a sentence with the phrase, “This little green box.”

Though my own XO hasn’t yet arrived, I realize that I had my own Green Box For Learning over fifty years ago, as I have described in On Libraries: The Ernie Pyle Memorial Home/Library. Here are some pictures of it from a postcard I found via eBay:

200712 038
The Ernie Pyle Library in Albuquerque, New Mexico

200712 037
Front of postcard

200712 039
Back of postcard

One of the reasons I write this blog is to hopefully provide some education, and perhaps even some inspiration, so that some of the members of the XO Generation will make it their career to be librarians in their own country, providing Boxes for Learning both using the XO Laptop and in the form of buildings where all are welcome to come find a book and read it.

Written by daveshields

December 19, 2007 at 5:13 pm

Posted in xo-laptop

Leave a Reply

