GO TO XO

On the XO Laptop

Mike Todd gets an XO Laptop. Will you?

leave a comment »

[First published as xo-laptop: Mike Todd gets it. Will you? on November 26, 2007.]

From Too Close For Comfort by Mike Todd:

Regardless, there we were checking out the features of the XO laptop on the impressive web site. Heavy duty antennae, rotating screen, built-in camera and microphone – this thing has everything you need to get online. (Not much of a hard drive, but that’s beside the point.)

Wait a minute…

Online?

Built-in camera and microphone?

And then it hit me like a ton of bricks.

I thought about all the people I met in Ethiopia, Uganda, Rwanda, and Kenya earlier this year. The adults. The children.

What if?

What if, by some miracle, one of these friends gets online?

What if my computer beeped one night?

What if I tapped the keyboard and saw one of those faces staring back at me?

“Hi Mike. I haven’t eaten in two days. What should I do?”

“Hi Mike. My little sister has malaria and she’ll be dead in a week if we don’t get her medicine. We have no money. What should I do?”

What if my friend looks through her screen, over my shoulder, and sees my four walls and a roof, and my hardwood floors. What if she sees my dinner on the table. What if she sees my flat screen and multiple pairs of shoes by the door?

What if?

The world just got way too small.

“He will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did not do for one of the least of these, you did not do for me.’
Matthew 25:45

Mike figured out the importance of the XO in a moment. I hope there are many more XO moments ahead in the weeks to come, as people begin to think seriously about the XO and the immense opportunities it will bring us.

Matthew is a book full of insights, including onchildren and the future. For example, it took me just a couple of minutes to find the following:

“Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hid. Neither do men light a candle, and put it under bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.”
Matthew 5:14-15

I see that Mike volunteers part-time at Linwood House Ministries.

While this organization is new to me, the name seems quite familiar. Ah, I have it…

Lynwood David Shields

Written by daveshields

December 12, 2007 at 2:58 pm

Posted in xo-laptop

Leave a Reply

