GO TO XO

On the XO Laptop

Request for Assistance: Seeking Python Expert(s)

with 2 comments

I currently use three web sites for my volunteer activities:

  1. WordPress, in the form of several blogs:
  2. daveshields.net
  3. daveshieldsbox.net

I have written, and will continue to write, all the content in (1).

Site (2) is my “home on the web.” Right now it just points to my main blog.

Site (3) is a “Linux box on the web.” Right now it just points to my main blog. It also has some content that I have recently duplicated in my main blog.

Both (2) and (3) are hosted using BlueHost (BH). I have been using BH for a year. I have had no problems, though I have also made only the lightest use of these sites, and so they have never drawn much traffic. I have paid for both of them for the next year or so.

I will continue to do my writing on the XO on this blog.

However, there may come a time when I will want to distribute XO-related content that can’t be published via WordPress. For example, I would like to set up a “planet” for XO bloggers.

Towards that end, I seek the assistance of someone who is an expert in open-source — and especially Python — to assist in these efforts.

Please indicate your interest in participating in the GOTOXO Project in by making a comment to this post.

Potential applicants should keep in mind that when I started my volunteer efforts I committed to never seeking contributions from anyone, in any way, shape, or form, that would result in money coming my way. Thus you will never see an ad sponsored by Google on any of my sites, nor will you find a solicitation for donations. For example, if you want to support SSgt. Chay, then I will direct you to his widow.

Thus, applicants need understand that the GO TO XO project is entirely a volunteer effort, and that anyone engaged in it who attempts to profit by it in any monetary fashion, or in any way that might even be perceived as their seeking personal or business monetary gain, will be immediately removed from the project.

Written by daveshields

December 4, 2007 at 4:34 pm

Posted in xo-laptop

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You know about http://planet.laptop.org/ right?

    Matt Brubeck

    December 4, 2007 at 6:08 pm

  2. Matt,

    Yes, I do. I have just added it to the BlogRoll.

    thanks,dave

    daveshields

    December 4, 2007 at 7:40 pm


Leave a Reply

